Walker & Byington takes a sophisticated, strategic approach to criminal defense. We never back away from a challenge. Call us for a free consultation and receive the individualized treatment you deserve.
Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon: A person does not even have to touch another to be charged with Aggravated Assault with a Deadly Weapon!
Penal Code: § 22.02
Punishment Range: 2-20 years in the Texas Department of Corrections, and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
To constitute the Class A Misdemeanor of “Assault Causing Bodily Injury,” bodily injury means that the victim experienced pain. Not bruises, not cuts. The only requirement is that it hurt!
Penal Code: § 22.01
Punishment Range: Class A Misdemeanor- No more than 1 year in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $4000; Class C Misdemeanor- A fine not to exceed $500.
Assault Family Violence: “Family” is defined more broadly than you might think. Not only does it include blood relations and romantic partners, it also includes anyone who lives in your household or who has previously lived in your household. A fist fight with your former college roommate might land you in court for a family violence charge!
Penal Code: § 22.01
Punishment Range: No more than 1 year in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $4000.
An arson conviction can stand on nothing but circumstantial evidence.
Penal Code: § 28.02
Punishment Range: 2-20 years in the Texas Department of Corrections and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
There are intricate details of domestic violence charges and protective orders that may affect your firearms rights! A person may be charged with a crime of family violence because they are in a relationship with the person they allegedly assault, or even if they merely cohabitate as roommates! If there is a protective order in place or a restraining order, it could prevent you from lawfully going to your own home and possessing your firearms and ammunition.
DWI roadblocks are illegal in Texas, but avoiding a roadblock provides an officer a legitimate basis to pull you over!
Penal Code: § 49.04
Punishment Range: No more than 6 months in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $2000.
If you are convicted of a drug possession crime, the conviction may be accompanied by an automatic suspension of your driver’s license.
Penal code: Many
Punishment Range: Varies based on the specific controlled substance and the amount alleged.
A successful claim that the murder was committed because of “sudden passion” will only render the conviction a second degree felony.
Penal code: § 19.02
Punishment Range: 5-99 years, or life, in the Texas Department of Corrections, and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.
The law changed in 2015! Now, any theft under $100 in value is only a Class C Misdemeanor.
Penal code: §31.03
Punishment Range: Varies based on the value of the items alleged to have been stolen.
With prostitution, fourth time’s the charm! The fourth prostitution charge is elevated to a state jail felony.
Penal code: § 43.02
Punishment Range: No more than 6 months in the county jail, and/or a fine not to exceed $2000.